CAC Payback Period: what it is and how to calculate it
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In the entrepreneurial world, investment efficiency is a critical factor. In this context, the CAC Payback Period has established itself as a fundamental metric for entrepreneurs, helping them evaluate financial performance and make informed decisions.
The CAC Payback Period measures how long it takes to recover the investment made to acquire a customer. In this article, we'll explain what it is and how to calculate it.
What is the CAC Payback Period?
Companies go through different stages in which they have to invest resources to acquire new clients. These investments must be carefully managed, as it is important to understand how much capital is required and whether the acquisition strategy is profitable.
This is where the CAC Payback Period becomes especially valuable. This metric helps determine whether the money invested in customer acquisition is generating a positive return. In other words, it shows how long it takes for a customer to generate enough profit to cover the cost of acquiring them. To calculate the CAC Payback Period, you need to:
- Determine how much it has cost you to acquire clients. You have to include the costs of ads, marketing, sales team costs and any other direct costs that have been involved.
- Calculate the CAC. For this, you will need the acquisition cost previously calculated, and divide it by the number of clients acquired in the same period of time.
- Calculate the Monthly Contribution Margin per Customer. Which is the amount each customer contributes after accounting for the costs associated with serving them.
In short, the three formulas you must control to make this calculation are:
- CAC= Acquisition costs/number of new customers acquired.
- Monthly Contribution Margin per Customer = Monthly revenue per customer - monthly costs per customer.
- CAC Payback Period = CAC/Monthly contribution margin per customer.
This third formula, the CAC Payback Period, will provide a figure indicating how many months it takes for a customer to generate sufficient profit to cover the cost. For example, a company spends €30,000 on its customer acquisition strategies and acquires 430 new customers. On the other hand, the monthly revenue per customer is €80, and the monthly cost per customer is €15. With this, we can proceed to calculate:
CAC = 30.000 / 430 = €69,76 per customer
Monthly Contribution Margin per Customer = €80 - €15 = €65
CAC Payback Period = €69,76 / €65 = 1.07
That means that the company needs approximately 1,07 months to recuper
That means the company takes approximately 1.07 months to recover the cost of acquiring a new customer, which is a very positive result.
The importance of calculating the CAC Payback Period
It is very important for companies to keep track of this data for the following reasons:
- Cash flow. Obviously, the payback period has a direct impact on your company's cash flow. If the period is short, your company quickly recovers the investment made, so the cash flow will be healthier and vice versa. It is, therefore, important to work to keep it short and improve the viability of your company.
- Profitability and sustainability. Related to the previous point, having a short payback period can also be a reflection that you have a sustainable business model, as your income quickly covers acquisition costs.
- Decision making. Having information on how long it takes to recover that investment can help you make better decisions about where, how, and when to allocate resources.
- Securing investment. The CAC payback period is one of those metrics that investors want to know before putting money into a business. Having a short period will make you gain the confidence of investors and be attractive to them.
- Campaign evaluation. It is also a great help to be able to evaluate how effective your company's marketing campaigns are. If you are spending too much on acquiring customers and this does not generate revenue quickly enough, it may be a sign that you need to revise something.
Now that you know how to calculate the CAC Payback Period, do not overlook this key metric and adjust your strategies so that your company continues to grow.